Administrative board


As the leading organ of the Foundation of the Germanisches Nationalmuseum, the Administrative Board makes decisions about matters of fundamental importance, especially concerning museum policies, larger building work in relation to the state’s budget, new acquisitions above the value limit determined by the museum’s by-laws, and provisions about parts of the collections. The committee supervises the management of the Foundation and determines the budget of the museum. 


Hans-Peter Schmidt(Deputy Chairperson)
Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Nuremberg insurance group

Dr. Sabine Haag
Director-General of the Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna

Prof. Dr. h. c. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (Chairperson)
President of the Goethe-Institut e.V.

Dr. Günther Beckstein
Prime Minister (retired)

Christof Freiherr von und zu Aufsess
Managing Associate of the Aufsess Kommunikation GmBH

Dr. Ulrich Maly
Mayor of the city of Nuremberg

Dr. Renate Eikelmann
Director-General of the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum, Munich

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Hans Joachim Meyer
State Minister (retired)

Dr. Johannes Friedrich 
Regional Bishop (retired)

Günter Schuchardt
Castellan, Wartburg Foundation, Eisenach

Dr. Uta Grund
Government Director, Federal Ministry for Education and Research, Division Humanities, Social and Cultural Studies, Bonn

Information and Services

Plan Your Visit
Opening Times
Location and Approach
GNM Museum Shop