As the leading organ of the Foundation of the Germanisches Nationalmuseum, the Administrative Board makes decisions about matters of fundamental importance, especially concerning museum policies, larger building work in relation to the state’s budget, new acquisitions above the value limit determined by the museum’s by-laws, and provisions about parts of the collections. The committee supervises the management of the Foundation and determines the budget of the museum.


Hans-Peter Schmidt (Deputy Chairperson)
Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Nuremberg insurance group 

Prof. Dr. h. c. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (Chairperson)
President of the Goethe-Institut e.V.

Christof Freiherr von und zu Aufsess
Managing Associate of the Aufsess Kommunikation GmBH 

Dr. Renate Eikelmann
Director-General of the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum, Munich 

Dr. Johannes Friedrich 
Regional Bishop (retired) 

Dr. Uta Grund
Government Director, Federal Ministry for Education and Research, Division Humanities, Social and Cultural Studies, Bonn 

Dr. Sabine Haag
Director-General of the Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna

Dr. Günther Beckstein
Prime Minister (retired) 

Dr. Ulrich Maly
Mayor of the city of Nuremberg 

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Hans Joachim Meyer
State Minister (retired) 

Günter Schuchardt
Castellan, Wartburg Foundation, Eisenach