Administrative board


As the leading organ of the Foundation of the Germanisches Nationalmuseum, the Administrative Board makes decisions about matters of fundamental importance, especially concerning museum policies, larger building work in relation to the state’s budget, new acquisitions above the value limit determined by the museum’s by-laws, and provisions about parts of the collections. The committee supervises the management of the Foundation and determines the budget of the museum. 


Ulrich Wilhelm (Chairperson)
former director ARD/BR

SKH Duke Max in Bayern
Ducal Head Office Tegernsee

Christoph Freiherr von und zu Aufsess
Managing Associate Aufsess Communication Ltd

Dr. Johannes Eberle
Bavarian Ministry of State for Science and the Arts, Munich

Dr. Renate Eikelmann
Director-General of the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum, Munich

Dr. Sophie Elpers
Meertens Instituut Amsterdam

Günther Gloser (Deputy Chairperson)
former State Minister

Inga Hennicke-Aden
Senior Government Councillor, Federal Ministry for Education and Research, Division Humanities, Social and Cultural Studies, Bonn

Marcus König
Mayor of the city of Nuremberg

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ulrich Raulff
President of the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa), Stuttgart

Dr. Claudia Rose
Head of Section, Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts, Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Georg Satzinger
Rheinische-Friedrich-Wilhelms-University, Department of Art History, Bonn

Günter Schuchardt
Castellan, Wartburg Foundation, Eisenach

Information and Services

Plan Your Visit
Opening Times
Location and Approach
GNM Museum Shop